(+976) 11-354662 | info@tourmongolia.com | tsolmon@tourmongolia.com

Smiley face

Bogd khan palace museum

In 1911, at the time of the collapse of the Qing Dynasty in China, the independence of Outer Mongolia was proclaimed. The monarch of the first independent Mongolian state was the eighth Javzandamba Khutagt, Bogd Khan, who lived from1869 to 1924. The spiritual leader and theocratic ruler of Mongolia lived close to the Tuul River in the Winter Palace, built between 1893 and 1903. The palace complex consists of seven temples, grouped symmetrically around two courtyards, with the exterior painted finishes in bright red, green, blue, white, and gold colors. The palace was completed in 1905, and a new ceremonial gate was added during the Bogd Khan’s rule to celebrate Mongolian independence. After the death of the Bogd Khan in 1924, the Winter Palace was turned into a museum. Well known for it’s Gate of Peace, Temple and personal library of Bogd Khaan. Among the museum’s exhibits are sculptures by Mongolia’s first Bogd Khaan Zanabazar, the famous Taras. The collection of the Palace Museum numbers over 8,000 exhibits; of these 72 are certified by the State as unique